Nation-Based Sovereign-Based Government

Historic moment in White Bear First Nations this weekend

July 7, 2019

Treaty 2 Territory – On Sunday, 7 July 2019, First Nations in Treaty 2 Territory (FNT2T) presented a Treaty 2 Territory flag to the White Bear First Nations at their annual Powwow.

“On behalf of FNT2T, it is with great honour to present our Treaty 2 Territory Flag to White Bear First Nations”, said Joseph Maud, Director Internal/External Relations.

Chief Nathan Pasap and Council accepted the Treaty 2 Territory flag in front of a capacity crowd at the White Bear Pow Wow. The Pow Wow Announcer Howie Thompson announced that this was a very historic occasion.

The White Bear First Nations is located 13 kilometres north of Carlyle, Treaty 2 Territory on Highway 9 and is 12,040 hectares(120.4 square kilometers) in size. Chief Wahpemakwa signed Treaty No. 4 on behalf of the population of 24 families (82 people) in 1875. The traditional languages spoken are Cree, Saulteaux and Nakota. The name White Bear First Nations is used, owing to the fact that there are Four Nations living on White Bear; Cree, Saulteaux (Anishanabe), Nakota and Dakota.

Last modified: July 13, 2019

Comments are closed.