Nation-Based Sovereign-Based Government

Historic Day – ‘Welcome to Treaty 2 Territory” sign at the Fairford River – protecting our Sovereign Territory

August 20, 2019

Treaty 2 Territory – The Government of First Nations in Treaty 2 Territory officially launched the first ‘Welcome to Treaty 2 Territory” sign at the Fairford River on the Pinaymootang First Nation on Tuesday, 20 August 2019 @ 9:30am.

“We are very proud of the steps our government has taken to make this day come true. To be able to welcome people into our territory and display who we are is great.”, said Grand Chief Eugene Eastman.

This is a very important point of the territory as it’s the original waters and route of the Anishinaabe people hundreds of years ago.  Taken from the original script of the treaty – ‘along the north bank of the stream flowing into St. Martin’s Lake from Lake Manitoba by the general course of such stream to such last-mentioned lake’.

 “Our treaty is important to us and our people, this will mark the accomplishments and foundation of our government, said Chief Garnet Woodhouse, Pinaymootang First Nation. 

The treaty which was made more than 148 years with the Queen of England and Ireland 21 August 1871 at the Manitoba House has still not been implemented with equal treaty partnership and compensation for land taken for immigration and settlement.

“Its about protecting our treaty and our territory with maps, signs and letting people know they live in our Treaty 2 Territory”, said Chief Wayne Desjarlais, Ebb and Flow who has been helping and advocating for signage in the territory for many years.


For more information please call us at 204.638.3797 or email


The Treaty 2 Territory

Treaty 2 was entered into on 21 August 1871 at Manitoba House, Rupertsland with Representatives of the Queen of England and Ireland. The original Anishinaabe (Chippewa and Cree), who were present constitute Treaty 2 today.

The Anishinaabe/Chippawa territory is much larger and extends beyond the current territory of Treaty 2. Today going by the original text during the making of Treaty 2 extends north of Treaty No.1 territory, along the east shore of Lake Winnipeg to Berens River, across to the Dauphin River along the water ways up to the northern tip of Waterhen Lake, across the Winnipegosis north of Duck Bay(old Duck Bay Reserve), then to the source of the Shell River in Duck Mountains along the Assiniboine to the Moose Mountains in southeastern Saskatchewan across the international border up by Brandon then to White Mud river across over to the Drunken River, then to Winnipeg River where it started.

The territory includes 8,676,828 hectares of land (21,440,909 acres). Included within the territory are many mountains, rivers and lakes which include; Riding Mountain, Duck Mountain, Turtle Mountain, Hecla/ Grindstone, and Moose Mountain and many lakes that were not part of the discussion at treaty such as Dauphin Lake, Clear Lake, Childs Lake, south basin of Lake Winnipegosis and Lake Winnipeg and north basin of Lake Manitoba. Today’s largest city located in Treaty 2 is Brandon, then Dauphin. There are many towns and RM’s located within the territory today.

History of First Nations in Treaty 2 Territory (FNiT2T)The First Nations in Treaty 2 Territory (FNiT2T) is a geographically based government that has been established to rebuild and reconstitute the collective Nations under an Inherent Nation-based and Treaty-based within the Treaty 2 territory that geographically include Treaty No. 1, 4 and 5.

The work to establish the Treaty 2 collective Nation began in the late 1990’s and through the dedication of numerous leaders and coordinated efforts. Through these combined efforts, Anishinaabe Agowidiiwinan – Treaty 2 (AA-T2) was established in 1998. Most recent and in its early stage the First Nations of Treaty 2 Territory (FNiT2T) Government was formed 12 June 2018. The original AA-T2 consists of the Chippewa and Cree of the nine (9) First Nations that made Treaty No. 2 on 21 August 1871 with the Crown representatives of England and Ireland.

Last modified: August 21, 2019

Comments are closed.