Nation-Based Sovereign-Based Government

Knowledge Council gives guidance and support to FNT2T Government

August 1, 2020

Treaty 2 Territory – Today our Knowledge Council has been consistently gathering to support the growth of the Government of FNT2T .  One of our most consistent council’s has been our Knowledge Council.  Formerly known as our Elders Council prior to the formation of our government on 12 June 2018, they have been our support and knowledge towards governance, history and administration.

They provide recommendations and guide the Governing Council and other Councils in their deliberations.  The Knowledge Holders/Keepers participate at all meetings to give their needed and valued guidance.

Governance review and order will come from the Knowledge Council.  The Council will assure we are following ancestral and modern laws and customs to move our Nation forward.

Most recent they are meeting to discuss the Restorative Peacemaking, formerly know as the Justice and Peacekeeping.  They are strong and vibrant with their thoughts and are giving guidance in the structure at the territorial level.

The Knowledge Council is made up of one (1) appointed member from each Local Nation within First Nations in Treaty 2 Territory.  The Knowledge Council are appointed by their Local Nation. The Chairperson of the Council is part of the Governing Council.

The Council meets monthly and when required.

  • Ebb & Flow: Louie Malcolm (Chair)
  • Dauphin River: Emery Stagg
  • Gambler: Angela Tourond
  • Keeseekoowenin: Dwayne Blackbird
  • Lake Manitoba: Dwight Paul
  • Lake St. Martin: Clarence Morse (Vice Chair)
  • Little Saskatchewan: Earl Sinclair
  • O-Chi-Chak-Ko-Sipi: Wallace Ahmo
  • Pinaymootang: Wilma Prince
  • Skownan: Elsi Marsden
  • Tootinaowaziibeeng: TBA

Knowledge Council



Last modified: August 1, 2020

Comments are closed.