Nation-Based Sovereign-Based Government

Team Gaawiikwedaawangaak (Sandy Bay) wins Battle of the Nations

September 18, 2020

Treaty 2 Territory – Gathering of Nations in Treaty 2 Territory continue during the Covid-19 epidemic, this year’s annual event of the Battle of Nations was held at the Gilbert Plains. Social distancing, sanitization measures and promoting masks were in place.

Treaty 2 territory has 21.5 million acres of prime sovereign land and has twenty-four (24) First Nations; 9 that made Treaty 2 – 21 August 1871, fifteen (15) more that live within the territory and five (5) that border on the eastern side of Lake Winnipeg.

The Battle of Nations, organized by FNT2T Regional Office Keeper Scott Lynxleg and Sports Portfolio Holder Chief Barry McKay has increased its numbers with a maximum number of teams at this year’s event. Chief Wayne Desjarlais, Gaagwekwekijiiwang (Ebb and Flow) attended the event and was on hand for the presentations.

Team Gaawiikwedaawangaak (Sandy Bay) headed by team captain Merv Spence, son Brian Spence and members Scott Roulette and Waylon Eastman won on a count back against Team Sapotewayak, team leader Calvin Campeau and his team Stacey Genaille, Faron Genaille, Nelson Leask with scores of 56. Honorary mention of placing third went to another Team Gaawiikwedaawangaak, captained by former pro hockey player Ivan Roulette, brother Nick Roulette, Justin Richard and Claude Roulette.

Last year’s top team was from Minegoziibe Anishinabe (Pine Creek) headed by team captain Elvis Nepinak.  Top team from 2018 was Team Ebb and Flow shooting 59. Lead by John North, Cecil Houle, young ringers Deon Houle and John Baptiste.

Results are as follows:

Championship Flight: Team Sandy Bay – Merv Spence, Brian Spence, Scott Roulette, Waylon Eastman 56 (CB) 2nd Place: Team Sapotewayak – Calvin Campeau, Stacey Genaille, Faron Genaille, Nelson Leask 56 (CB) 3rd Place: Team Sandy Bay – Ivan Roulette, Nick Roulette, Justin Richard, Claude Roulette 57

1st Flight1st Place: Team Ebb and Flow – Shaq Houle/Darcy Malcolm/Dion Houle/Johnny Baptiste 58 CB 2nd Place: Team Peguis – Chris Stranger/Tyron Spence/Walter Mercredi/Darrell Bear 58 CB 3rd Place: Team Ebb and Flow – John North/Leo Baptiste/Ryan Flett/Cody North 58 CB

2nd Flight1st Place: Team Tootinaowaziibeeng – Stan Mancheese/George McKay/Jordan McKay/Brandon McKay 60CB; 2nd Place: Team Pine Creek John Neapew/Jake McKay/Ian Moosetail/Stacey Mekish 61CB; 3rd Place: Team Skownan – Wayne Catcheway/Larry Catagas/Nelson Nepinak/Kyle Catagas 61CB

3rd Flight1st Place: Team Little Saskatchewan – Kobe Shorting/Travis Shorting/Albert Shorting/Daniel Shorting 63 CB; 2nd Place: Team Pine Creek – Larry Nepinak/Earl Thompson/Jay Moosetail/Ron C 63 CB; 3rd Place: Team Tootinaowaziibeeng – Barry McKay/Gord McKay/Scott Lynxleg/Merv Lynxleg 63 CB

4th Flight1st Place: Team Pine Creek – Sterling Nepinak/Dave Contois/Kevin McKay/Dean Richard 67CB; 2nd Place: Team Lake Manitoba – Leo Choken/Carl Paul/Jonathan Choken/Shane Roulette 67CB; 3rd Place: Team Cross Lake – Lloyd Settee/George Muswagon/George Ross/Craig B 67CB

Honest Score: Team Gaawiikwedaawangaak (Sandy Bay) – Janice Roulette/Jachi Starr/Tanya Ailkens/Elissa Roulette

Longest Drive – Team Ebb and Flow – Todd Desjarlais, Skins – Team Dauphin River – Emery Stagg

Closest to the Pin

Hole 4 Gallager; Team Pinaymootang – Captain Adam Anderson

Hole 9 Kiniw; Team Keeseekoowenin – Captain Brennan Burns

Hole 14 RO; – Dauphin Team Pine Creek – Captain Ian Moosetail

Hole 17 RO; – Pinaymootang Team Tootinaowaziibeeng – Captain George McKay

Thank you Mace Muzur for sponsoring Hole in One Contest on Hole #4. No winner but closest to the pin winner was very close!

Last modified: September 19, 2020

Comments are closed.