Nation-Based Sovereign-Based Government

Peacemaking in the Treaty 2 Territory

July 23, 2021

Treaty 2 Territory- Peacemaking means maintaining Mino-Bimaadiziwin in the Nation by restoring peace, balance, harmony, and natural order. To accomplish this, the Treaty 2 Government in collaboration with the T2 Local Nations, will be implement a Peacemaking System what will replace the current Justice System. Peacemaking includes the Seven Circles of Peacemaking that is based on an Anishinaabe Governing System. The Seven Circles of Peacemaking includes the Lynx, Deer, Eagle, Turtle, Bear, Crane, and Loon Circle. The Seven Circles of Peacemaking will use Anishinaabe ways to restore peace and harmony, address the overrepresentation of Indigenous people in the justice system, and break negative intergenerational cycles.

Anishinaabe Peacemaking systems that promoted Mino-Bimaadiziwin were forcibly interrupted by colonial settlers through the Indian Act and other laws or policies. These interruptions had a devastating impact of the Anishinaabe people. The Report of the Aboriginal Justice Inquiry (1991) states “Aboriginal people form a far larger percentage of the inmate and probation population than they do of the general population of Manitoba”. In 2018, Indigenous people made up 81% of the inmate youth population in youth detention centres. A University of Manitoba report (2020) found that 60% of people incarcerated were also involved with Child and Family Services.

To address this injustice, FNT2T and Local Nations will develop and implement a local and territorial Peacemaking system that provides prevention, early intervention, restorative measures, wellness, and healing.

The objectives of Peacemaking:

  1. Anishinaabe Law Development to contemporize and implement Treaty 2 laws in the territory
  2. Restore and build Local Nations and FNT2T the Seven Circles of Peacemaking (Administration):
  3. The Bizhiw (Lynx) Circle: The Lynx Circle’s role is Wellness Promotion, Education and Awareness, Wellness Support, and Early Intervention.
  4. The Waawaashkeshi (Deer) Circle: The Waawaashkeshi Circle is responsible for Restorative Peacemaking, including sharing and circles, mediation, and family group conferencing.
  5. The Migizi (Eagle) Circle: The Migizi Circles consists of Knowledge Keepers, Land Based Activities, Wellness Centres, and Healing Lodges.
  6. The Mikinaak (Turtle) Circle: The Mikinaak Circle is responsible for the Anishisnaabe Law Centre and Peacemaking Registrar.
  7. The Makwa (Bear) Circle: The Bear Circle’s role is Protection, Peacekeeping, Wellness Supervision, and Search and Rescue.
  8. The Mahng (Loon): The Mahng Circle is responsible for civil, criminal, family, and youth circles.
  9. The Ahjijawk (Crane): The Ahjijawk Circle is responsible for appeals circle and at the direction of a Grandmother Council.


FNT2T in collaboration with Local Nations, are striving to enter into an Aboriginal Justice Agreement with Canada to support FNT2T’s vision for Peacemaking. The agreement will include building local and territorial capacity to ensure Peacemaking is efficient and effective. Peacemaking will restore an Anishinaabe governing system that promotes Mino-Bimaadiziwin.

Last modified: July 23, 2021

Comments are closed.