Nation-Based Sovereign-Based Government

Pheasant Rump Nakota Nation honours Chief Ira McArthur & All Female Council with Swearing In Ceremony

September 23, 2021

Treaty 2 Territory –  Grand Chief Eugene Eastman, and the Treaty 2 Government Congratulate Chief Ira McArthur and all four female Council Members who were honoured with a  Swearing in Ceremony today in Pheasant Rump Nakota Nation.
The four year term (from 2021 to 2025) will be see the leadership of Chief McArthur, and Councillors Patricia McArthur Fleming (re-elected), Julie Kakakaway (re-elected), Sheila Knebush (newly elected), and Ramona Knebush (newly elected). We congratulate all re-elected, and newly elected councillors.
During the Swearing In Ceremony, Elders and Knowledge Keepers Wayne McArthur and Joan McArthur blanketed Pheasant Rump’s Chief & Councillors.
JR McArthur for provided a prayer and song in our Nakota language, Jake Louison for providing Commissioner for Oaths services. Chief McArthur acknowledged and thanked the Nation’s Elders/Knowledge Keepers,  members on and off reserve, and gave special gratitude for the children of the Nakota Nation for their unwavering support and guidance with the development of their Nation’s governance, legal, administrative, language, culture, and economic structures and activities.
Chief McArthur shared his immense appreciation to outgoing Councillors Misty McArthur and Juanita McArthur-BigEagle. He shared “It has been a pleasure to have served alongside you for the previous 7 years! Much love and respect for the sacrifices and commitment you both gave to your responsibilities as elected leaders”.
On a recent social media post, Chief Ira McArthur shared the following message “The kindness and compassion we have as a family, community, and Nation will always outshine the negativity of one or a few and will guide us toward the beautiful path our ancestors and relatives who went home to the Creator have carved out for us. Let us never forget that we are all one. Our hopes and dreams are not that different. Whether you are young or old, male or female, on or off reserve, mother, father, daughter, son or child, let your beauty shine! Water your spiritual garden and let love live within you, for you, and because of you!”


Pheasant Rump Nakota Nation is located in the south-west portion of the Treaty 2 Territory west of Moose Mountains. Our Treaty 2 Government is grateful for the unity and friendship that exists with Chief McArthur and the beautiful people of Pheasant Rump. We look forward to continued dialogue as we continue our journey in reclaiming our Inherent Rights as Nakota, Dakota, and Anishinaabe people.

Congratulations Chief Ira McArthur, and Council!

Submitted by: Marlene Davis, Communications Keeper

Last modified: September 23, 2021

Comments are closed.