Nation-Based Sovereign-Based Government

Peacemaking ready for Grand Council – 23/24 August 2022 Kakakwekejeong

July 27, 2022

Treaty 2 Territory – Peacemaking is one of the Four Bundles of the First Nations in Treaty 2 Government. It is the legal system that recognizes and enforces the laws in the Treaty 2 Territory. There is the four sections of the Peacemaking bundles which includes the Peacemaking Onankonehkawin, the Peacemaking and Peacekeeping Commissions, and the Seven Circles of Peacemaking.

Onankonehkawin (Law): The Peacemaking Onankonehkawin is based on an Anishinaabe Legal Framework and an Anishinaabe Clan Governing System that replaces punishment with healing. The Peacemaking Onankonehkawin includes the Seven Circles of Peacemaking including Peacekeeping. The Peacemaking Onankonehkawin was moved by Men’s Council on June 16, 2021, and passed by the Executive/ Governing Council on November 18, 2021.

Peacemaking Commission: The Peacemaking Commission is a feature of Peacemaking that provides oversight for the Administration of the Peacemaking. The Peacemaking Commission is made up of Local Nation representatives from the Treaty 2 Territory. The Peacemaking Commission Oversees the Lynx, Deer, Eagle, Turtle, Loon, and Crane Circles.

Peacekeeping Commission: The Peacemaking Commission is the oversight body responsible for Peacekeeping. The Peacemaking Commission is made up of Local Nation representatives from the Treaty 2 Territory. They are responsible for the Bear Circle (Peacekeepers).

The Seven Circles of Peacemaking (Administration):   

  1. The Bizhiw (Lynx) Circle: The Lynx Circle’s role is Wellness Promotion, Education and Awareness, Wellness Support, and Early Intervention.
  2. The Waawaashkeshi (Deer) Circle: The Waawaashkeshi Circle is responsible for Restorative Peacemaking, including sharing circles, mediation, healing circles, and family group conferencing.
  3. The Migizi (Eagle) Circle: The Migizi Circles consists of Knowledge Keepers, Land Based Activities, Wellness Centres, Healing Lodges, Storytelling, Anishinaabe Identity, Decolonization, Breaking Intergenerational Impacts, Healthy Relationships, Karma, Energy, Anishinaabe Parenting, and Lateral Kindness programs.
  4. The Mikinaak (Turtle) Circle: The Mikinaak Circle is responsible for the Anishinaabe Law Centre and Registrar.
  5. The Makwa (Bear) Circle: The Bear Circle’s role is Protection, Peacekeeping (Policing), Wellness Supervision, Guardianship (conservation) and Search and Rescue. The Bear Circle’s Peacekeepers is overseen by a Peacekeeping Commission.
  6. The Mahng (Loon): The Mahng Circle is responsible for Tribunals.
  7. The Ahjijawk (Crane): The Ahjijawk Circle is responsible for Tribunal appeals.

Grand Council – 23/24 August 2022 Kakakwekejeong

The Peacemaking is one of four Bundles that is the foundation of our Territory, Nation and Government.  A resolution has come forward by the Governing Council to review, discuss and pass the Peacemaking Onankonehkawinan at this year’s Grand Council is ready for 23/24 August 2022 at the Community Complex at Kakakwekejeong.

Register today at

Documentation to Review and reference:


Last modified: July 29, 2022

Comments are closed.