Nation-Based Sovereign-Based Government


The formation of First Nations in Treaty 2 Territory was on 12 June 2018 at Lake Manitoba First Nation.  At the Councils Assembly, the Council of Chiefs of that collective, after considering the complexities of the situation, the Council of Chiefs resolved that

Anishinaabe Agowidiiwinan would promote the formation of a collective consisting of all First Nations with reserves in Treaty 2 Territory. The collective would include First Nations who had entered into Treaty 1, 2, 4 and 5. In addition to the Anishinaabe First Nations, the collective would include Dakotas, Cree, Nakota and other cultures and languages.

The steps forward is that each First Nation has the right to its own culture, language, and history. Where that culture, language and culture are shared with other First Nations, those First Nations have a right to form their own collective to deal with those matters. This is what the First Nations who are members of Anishinaabe Agowidiiwinan – Treaty 2 have done.

That is the process in which Anishinaabe Agowidiiwinan is engaged and looks forward to working with all other First Nations with reserves in Treaty 2 Territory in the formation of a collective of those individual self-governing First Nations, and for that collective to be “the nation” involved in a “Nation-to-Nation Relationship with Canada.  This is their sincere wish, and their sincere invitation.

Comments are closed.