Nation-Based Sovereign-Based Government

Sports and Recreation

The Treaty 2 Territory Youth Summer Games will be held on July 12 and 13, 2022 at Eagle’s Island in Kakakwekejeong.

The Summer Games are open to grade 7-12 students, who are from one of the 12 Treaty 2 Nations, living on or off nation.   They are also open to students who attend school in one of the 12 nations, even if they aren’t a member of the nation.  The nations are as follows with the Youth Council member;

  • Animozeebeeng (Lake Manitoba) – Geoff Edwards
  • Kithikatchiwan (Dauphin River) – Dyson Thompson
  • Kakakwekejeong (Ebb and Flow) – Tyrone Desjarlais
  • Keeseekoowenin – Cadena Brazeau
  • Obushkudayang (Lake St Martin) – Kyle Menard
  • O-Chi-Chak-Ko-Sipi (Crane River) – Evan Lacquette
  • Pinaymootang (Fairford) – Kristian Stagg
  • Skownan – Ruth Nepinak
  • Gaagiishkikamigaak (Little Saskatchewan) – Vacant
  • Minegoziibe Anishinaabe (Pine Creek) – Harley Chartrand
  • Gamblers – Jaylee Smith
  • Tootinoaziibiing (Valley River) – Erich Shingoose

The Youth Council members can direct you to the local contact.

The 6 official sports, 1 Demonstration sport:

  • Beach Volleyball
  • Basketball
  • Slo-pitch
  • Golf
  • Horseshoes
  • Cross Country Running
  • Lacrosse – Demonstration Sport

The demonstration sport will feature a workshop introducing our original game followed by a scrimmage.

If you have any questions regarding the games, please send an email to:



Comments are closed.